

Tel: 416-623-7454

E-mail: executivedirector@soar.on.ca

THE SOAR MEDAL

for Outstanding Contributions to the Ontario Administrative Justice System

2024 Nomination Form

Ensure separate detailed documents are attached to Nomination

Nominee	Nominator
Name	Name
Title	Title
Agency/Organization	Agency/Organization
Telephone	Telephone
Email	Email
Nomination Instructions Nominations must include:	tlining detailed information and accomplishments about the nominee.
A letter of nomination setting out the reasons	for the nomination:
	estanding service and achievements as they relate to the award;
A current curriculum vitae; and	standing corvice and define vernonte de they relate to the award,
	ng the nomination. Deadline for receipt of all submissions is Friday, October 25, 2024.
Please send completed nomi	nation form and nominee details to:
Society of Ontario Adjudicators and Regul	ators
PO Box 25, STN F	
Toronto, ON, M4Y 2L4	

What is the SOAR Medal?

Award Criteria

The SOAR Medal is SOAR's top honour. The SOAR Medal is the highest expression of esteem that SOAR can convey. It honours those who have made a significant contribution and demonstrated their commitment to the field of administrative justice, who have been dedicated and active members or supporters of SOAR, and who have made a significant contribution to the administrative justice field and to the well-being of the community at large.

To be eligible for the award, an individual must meet the following criteria:

- Consistent outstanding service and achievement or exceptional leadership dedicated to advancing excellence in the field of administrative justice, above and beyond the successful completion of day-to-day responsibilities; or
- A singular accomplishment of particular significance to the administrative justice community.

Although it is not mandatory for the award recipient to have volunteered for SOAR, the selection committee will consider an individual's volunteer service with SOAR. For more information about the SOAR Medal program, visit https://soar.on.ca.

For questions about the award and selection process:

Daphne Simon, Executive Director

E-mail: daphne@soar.on.ca

Tel. 416-623-7454

What are Administrative Justice System Agencies?

Administrative justice system agencies are organizations, which work at arm's length from government and determine the legal rights and regulatory obligations of Ontario residents under provincial statutes.

What is the Society of Ontario Adjudicators & Regulators (SOAR)?

SOAR is a non-government, non-partisan organization of agency chairs, members (adjudicators) and staff devoted to the improvement of Ontario's administrative justice system in the public interest. Its members come from provincial, municipal and federal administrative justice system agencies, domiciled in Ontario.

Who May be Nominated?

The award is open to both current and former members and staff of Ontario's administrative justice community. This includes adjudicators, tribunal staff, lawyers who practice before agencies, public servants, academics and judges. Current members of SOAR's Board of Directors are not eligible.

Who Selects the Award Recipient?

A selection committee from the administrative justice community, which may include past SOAR medal winners, shall meet after the close of nominations to select the winner, from among the nominee applications. The successful candidate shall be chosen by unanimous agreement among the selection committee.

PREVIOUS SOAR MEDAL RECIPIENTS, SINCE ITS INCEPTION IN 1995

1995 Robert W. Macauley, Q.C, Dr. Ratna B. Ray, George Thomson

1996 Mary Cornish, Andromache Karakatsanis, Andrew J. Roman

1997 Jeff G. Cowan, S. Ron Ellis, Q.C., Margot Priest 1998 Marie C. Rounding, John Swaigen, George Adams

1999 Gary J. Guzzo, Janet Skelton, Gary C. Yee

2000 Clare Lewis, Heather MacNaughton, Brian Goodman

2001 Doug Colborne, Carolyn Fenn, Ken Sandhu

2002 The Hon John Laskin, Kent McClure, Zeynep Onen 2003 Michael Bay, the late David B. Braund, the late Nick McCombie 2004 Kathy Laird, Richard Prial

2005 The Hon Madam Justice Deena Baltman, David Mullan, Ted Yao

2006 Murray Chitra, The Hon Justice Denis O'Connor, Robert

2007 The Hon Justice Douglas Carruthers, Carol Prest

2008 Mary Ellen Cummings, Linda L. Gehrke, Dr. Bonita Porter 2009 Sara Blake, Chisanga Puta-Chekwe

2010 Mary Camacho, Dean Lorne Sossin, The Hon Justice Kevin Whitaker

2011 James Girling, The Hon Justice David Stratas, Toby Vigod

2012 Ayumi Bailly, Justice Edward Ormston, Paul Sommerville 2014 The Hon Justice Stephen T. Goudge, Q.C. Robert Butterworth, Q.C.

2015 Ian Strachan

2016 The Hon Freya Kristjanson, Gary R. Stanley

2017 Avvy Yao Yao Go, Lilian Ma

2018 Valerie Jepson, Janet Leiper

2019 Emanuela Heyninck, Susan E. Opler

2020 Brian Cook, Laura Pettigrew

2021 Raj Anand, David A. Wright

2022 Kwame Addo, Michelle Alton

2023 Margaret Leighton, The Hon

Katherine Swinton