# Nominee Ensure that separate detailed documents are attached to this form.

### The SOAR Medal for Outstanding **Contributions** to the Ontario **Administrative**

2018

**Justice System** 

### Presented by



Name	Title	Agency/Organization
Address		
Telephone	_ Email	
Nominator		
Name	Title	Agency/Organization
Address		
Telephone	_ Email	
Signature		Date

## Nomination Instructions

☐Yes, I have

attached a

separate document outlining detailed information and

accomplishments about the nominee

Nominations must include:

- a letter of nomination setting out the reasons for the nomination;
- background information on the nominee's outstanding service and achievements as they relate to the award;
- a current curriculum vitae; and
- This nomination form and selection criteria are available on the Deadline for receipt of all submissions is Monday, October 1, 2018. from other individuals supporting the nomination.

SOAR website at https://soar.on.ca.

### and nominee Please send completed nomination form details to:

c/o 131 Bloor St. W. SOAR Medal Selection Committee

PO Box 22031, The Colonnade Toronto, ON Tel: 416-623-7454 Fax: 416-623-7437

E-mail: executivedirector@soar.on.ca

https://soar.on.ca

### What is the SOAR Medal?

### **Award Criteria**

The SOAR Medal is SOAR's top honour. The SOAR Medal is the highest expression of esteem that SOAR can convey. It honours those who have made a significant contribution and demonstrated their commitment to the field of administrative justice, who have been dedicated and active members or supporters of SOAR, and who have made a significant contribution to the administrative justice field and to the well-being of the community at large. To be eligible for the award, an individual must meet the following criteria:

- consistent outstanding service and achievement or exceptional leadership dedicated to advancing excellence in the field of administrative justice, above and beyond the successful completion of day-to-day responsibilities; or
- A singular accomplishment of particular significance to the administrative justice community.

Although it is not mandatory for the award recipient to have volunteered for SOAR, the selection committee will consider an individual's unpaid volunteer service with SOAR.

For more information about the SOAR Medal program, visit https://soar.on.ca.

### For questions specific to the award and selection process, please contact:

Daphne Simon, SOAR Executive Director

E-mail: daphne@soar.on.ca

Tel. 416-623-7454

### What are Administrative Justice System Agencies?

Administrative justice system agencies are organizations, which work at arm's length from government and determine the legal rights and regulatory obligations of Ontario residents under provincial statutes.

### What is the Society of Ontario Adjudicators & Regulators (SOAR)?

SOAR is a non-government, non-partisan organization of agency chairs, members (adjudicators) and staff devoted to the improvement of Ontario's administrative justice system in the public interest. Its members come from provincial administrative justice system agencies.

### Who May be Nominated?

The award is open to both current and former members and staff of Ontario's administrative justice community. This includes adjudicators, tribunal staff, lawyers who practice before agencies, public servants, academics and judges. Current members of SOAR's Board of Directors are not eligible.

### Who Selects the Award Recipient?

A selection committee from the administrative justice community, which could include past SOAR medal winners, shall meet after the close of nominations to select the winner, from among the list of nominees. The successful candidate shall be chosen by unanimous agreement among the selection committee.

### **Previous Award Recipients**

Beginning with the award's inception in 1995.

1995	Robert W. Macauley, Q.C., Dr. Ratna B. Ray, George Thomson	2004 2005	Kathy Laird, Richard Prial The Honourable Madam Justice Deena Baltman,
1996	Mary Cornish, Andromache	2000	David Mullan, Ted Yao
	Karakatsanis, Andrew J. Roman	2006	Murray Chitra, The Honourable Justice
1997	Jeff G. Cowan, S. Ron Ellis, Q.C.,		Denis O'Connor, Robert Owen
	Margot Priest	2007	The Honourable Douglas Carruthers, Carole Prest
1998	Marie C. Rounding, John Swaigen,	2008	Mary Ellen Cummings, Linda L. Gehrke,
	George Adams		Dr. Bonita (Bonnie) Porter
1999	Gary J. Guzzo, Janet Skelton,	2009	Sara Blake, Chisanga Puta-Chekwe
	Gary C. Yee	2010	Mary Camacho, Dean Lorne Sossin,
2000	Clare Lewis, Heather MacNaughton,		The Honourable Justice Kevin Whitaker
	Brian Goodman	2011	James Girling, The Honourable Justice
2001	Doug Colbourne, Carolyn Fenn,		David Stratas, Toby Vigod
	Ken Sandhu	2012	Ayumi Bailly, Justice Edward Ormston, Paul Sommerville
2002	The Honourable John Laskin, Kent	2014	Mr. Robert Butterworth, Q.C
	McClure, Zeynep Onen		The Honourable Stephen T. Goudge, Q.C
2003	Michael Bay, the late David B. Braund,	2015	Mr. Ian Strachan
	the late Nick McCombie	2016	The Honourable Freya Kristjanson, Mr. Gary R. Stanley
		2017	Avvy Yao Yao Go, Lilian Ma