Notice of Election - SOAR Board of Directors 2017-19


This notice of election is being distributed to all SOAR Members who are eligible members as of October 16, 2017.  SOAR invites all of its members who are Chairs, Full-time adjudicators, Part-time adjudicators and Staff of Ontario adjudicative agencies, boards and commissions to consider serving on SOAR’s Board of Directors.

As a Director, you will govern and support SOAR and its activities through the development and monitoring of the strategic plan, committee work, education and advocacy, financial operations and other related activities. The time commitment includes attendance at Board meetings, active participation on SOAR’s Committees and a willingness to contribute to SOAR’s mandate of advancing administrative justice through education, advocacy and innovation.  Directors will have an opportunity to work and network with colleagues and make a contribution to your professional association and the community.  Each SOAR Director term is 2 years with a maximum of 6 continuous years on the Board, inclusive of all positions.

On Wednesday December 6, 2017 at 5:00pm, SOAR will hold its Annual General Meeting (AGM) at the Arts and Letters Club of Toronto at 14 Elm Street, Toronto.   At that meeting, the results of the 2017-2019 Board of Directors Elections will be presented to the Membership. There will also be a presentation of the SOAR Medal recipients and a cocktail reception.

Please note the following important election dates:

September 11, 2017                  Distribution of Notice of Election

October 17, 2017                      Nominations open

October 31, 2017                      Nominations close

November 16, 2017                   Elections open (online ballot, instructions emailed to SOAR Members)

November 23, 2017                   Elections close

December 6, 2017                     Results presented at the Annual General Meeting


Please email your statement of interest (1/2 page) along with your completed Nomination form to the SOAR Election Committee care of between October 17 and October 31, 2017.